The trail of gardens in my wake

Here are some pictures of the garden, as it stands, at the ecoplex:

DSCN0183
This is the apartment building that runs along side my east property line in the back. I know it isn’t really visible in this photo, but I am starting a privacy/food hedge on my side of the property line, and it will benefit from the drip-line of the roof. Starting at the left edge of the photo: the kiwis are vined on the chainlink fence, an apple is beside them (also 2 sunchokes and a tomato), under the first window is the juneberry, under the second is an apple and currant and strawberries, under the third is a gooseberry and cherry-plum, under the fourth is a currant and cherry-plum. I have been pulling caterpillars and aphids off the currants, but they look vigorous enough to make it through the munching. All of these currently tiny plants should get a lot bigger, and I will fill in with hazelnuts and peabush (nitrogen fixer) and other groundcover, roots, vines, etc.

DSCN0184
Here you can see some volunteer mystery squash-things in my flower containers, my start at an herb spiral (I need many more rocks and compost), and a small sheet mulch bed with flowers, strawberries and nagoon berry.

DSCN0185
Here is an apple tree in the middle of the yard with a sheet mulch bed around and off of it containing strawberries, squash, cilantro, and tomatoes. The arch over the veggies is from one of the boxsprings that was in the shed. The veggies would be happier if I placed some clear plastic over the arch, but I haven’t done that yet. I’m much more focused on the perennials this year, as I am sure I have mentioned about a thousand times!

One response to “The trail of gardens in my wake

  1. The only reason for this comment is to use “nagoon berry” in a sentence. I’m so envious– think of all the fresh produce you’ll be eating! It’s as if you didn’t have a full time job. I don’t think I’d be able to get all that done even if I was retired and independently wealthy. Seriously. I come home and all I do is play with Ryan, knit, story time and complete total sleep. (it is a new kind of sleep I’ve been trying out since Ryan has been sleeping better– I highly recommend it).
    I’m so seriously lazy though… I should garden more… but let’s face it we have too much shade and it is too hot. I fully expect a jar of fruit preserves next time I see you. Or for Christmas. Or Labor Day (really I’m not picky, Veterans day would be good too)

Leave a comment